Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ for 2023

As a part of today’s current affairs, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has declared the recipients of the ‘Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ for 2023. The awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on January 9, 2024, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, where the President of India will honor the awardees.

The ‘Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ is granted to corporate entities, Sports Control Boards, NGOs, and sports bodies at both state and national levels that have significantly contributed to sports promotion and development.

Applications were invited online, allowing sportspersons, coaches, and entities to apply through a dedicated portal. The Selection Committee, led by Smt. Sujata Chaturvedi, Secretary (Sports), GoI, and comprising members from various fields, reviewed numerous applications for the 2023 awards.

The following entities will be honored with the ‘Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ in 2023:

  • Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent: Jain Deemed to be University, Bengaluru
  • Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility: Odisha Mining Corporate Limited

The award presentation will take place on January 9, 2024, at 11:00 AM at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Other Awards In Sports Field

Apart from the ‘Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar,’ the Government of India presents several other prestigious sports awards to recognize and honor outstanding contributions to sports. 

Here are some notable sports awards:

Khel Ratna Award (Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award)

This is India’s highest sporting honor, presented for exceptional performance in sports over a period of four years. It is named after the legendary hockey player Major Dhyan Chand.

Arjuna Award

The Arjuna Award is conferred upon outstanding sportspersons for consistent excellent performance at the international level. It recognizes athletes across various sports disciplines.

Dronacharya Award:

Coaches who have produced outstanding results at the international level receive the Dronacharya Award. It acknowledges their significant contribution to the development of sports in India.

Major Dhyan Chand Award:

This award is given for lifetime achievement in sports and games. It recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to sports, both during their playing careers and afterward.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (MAKA Trophy):

Awarded to the best university in the Inter-University Tournaments, the MAKA Trophy promotes sports at the university level and encourages healthy competition among educational institutions.

These awards play a crucial role in motivating athletes, coaches, and sports administrators, contributing to the growth and development of sports in India. The recipients are celebrated for their dedication, talent, and impact on the sports landscape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Press ESC to close